Being involved in an automobile accident can be very unsettling to say the least. The number one priority in this situation should be your physical and mental wellbeing. If you have been in an auto accident and wish to seek an evaluation, and if necessary, treatment, feel free to contact our office (321-848-0987). We will not only address any physical effects of the accident, but will also assist you in navigating this potentially confusing process.
WHAT IS “PIP?”
If you have automobile insurance, part of what you pay for is something called “PIP” (personal injury protection) coverage. This is mandatory in the state of Florida and is designed to protect you should you be the unfortunate victim of an auto accident. These funds come from a portion of the premium you pay, and are designed to be available to you following an automobile accident should you desire to be evaluated and if need be, treated.
However, there are certain specifications to this constantly changing law that can add to the confusion of the experience. We offer this information as a service, to help our patients better understand their rights and requirements.
TIME LIMITS IN SEEKING TREATMENTS
The current law gives you only 14 days to seek treatment following the date of the accident. If you do not see a doctor (including a chiropractor) during that timeframe, you lose the ability to use your PIP coverage for any necessary treatment. This makes it critical to consult with us promptly if you believe you have been injured in any way.
COVERAGE AND TREATMENT OPTIONS
While you continue to be required to carry and pay insurance premiums for a full $10,000 of PIP coverage, in certain situations you may only be entitled to up to $2,500 reduced benefit. The current law requires you have a determination of an “emergency medical condition” to access your full $10,000 benefit. It also restricts who is allowed to make that determination, excluding chiropractors. That means in some situations, we may find it necessary to refer you to another health care provider to confirm that determination. (The law also no longer requires your insurance company to pay for either massage therapy or acupuncture treatment.)
WHAT TO DO IF YOUR AUTO INSURANCE CARRIER STOPS PAYMENT AFTER $2,500
If your auto insurance carrier stops payment after $2,500 for the $10,000 in benefits for which you pay a premium, you may continue to obtain treatment with our office under a Letter of Protection if you are represented by a lawyer and are filing a claim for recovery against the at-fault driver. Remember you always have the right to seek legal counsel for the early termination of your PIP benefits.
As stated above, the number one priority in a situation like this should be making sure you are alright, physically and mentally. If you have been in a car accident and wish to seek an evaluation, and if necessary, treatment, feel free to contact our office (321-848-0987).
This information is being provided as a public service by your Doctor of Chiropractic, a member of the Florida Chiropractic Association, Inc., Florida’s premiere professional chiropractic association. If you are interested in more information on this and other health care issues affecting you, visit http://www.nofaultinfo.com